Needles, Torture and me fainting, Origin by Jennifer L. Armentrout

“Did you think you could stop me? I’ll burn the world down to save her.”

Jennifer L. Armentrout, Origin

This is the fourth book in the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. This is a supernatural YA that has elements of what I would call, horrible crap meant to scare me. If you wondering what has me unsettled. Needles, and hospital. Two of my worse fear and at least 70% of this damn book is the two main character being tortured in a secret lab, very much like a hospital. Guess what? This book set off my fear of hospitals. Thank you very much, Jennifer L. Armentrout.

So, as you can imagine. I wanted to shut down the audiobook several times out of creep factor but I held on… Torturing me along with listening to the torture of the characters. There is a lot of torture, I have read worse but I would still put up a warning label in this book for it has a lot of both mental and physical torture that unnerved me.

This is a dark book. It was hard to laugh even when jokes came for it was always followed by an unnerving scene of agony. So, it has a different atmosphere from the other books. Though, because of the dark nature, it also hit a lot of emotional buttons.

A lot of people dies, and I noticed that Armentrout loves to kill her villains. None seem to survive for long. Neither does the side characters. The body count in this book is high and I lost count after a while. So, if you dislike that then this book might not be to your liking, but if you can handle Game of Thrones then you can handle this one.

The plot is far more straightforward. The end goal is to escape Daedalus. On the way, you will find out about the secrets held by the organization that just seemed insane. They are mad scientists and I don’t really buy that they are from the government. Too insane, but Armentrout seems to have a bit of a cliché trend among the villains. The bad government, insane scientists and coldblooded killers. Recognize these from every YA ever?

It still works but I still wanted to point it out. This book had two perspectives, unlike the other books. One is Katy’s and the other is Daemon’s. I appreciated that the audiobook had two narrator, Justine Eyre for Katy and Rob Shapiro, and they are both great. I would definitely recommend it as both narrators do give the characters more of a personality and truly give theirs all into the story.

Even though this one set of my dislike the most, I would also say that it is the greatest of the four books in the series. The book is great, the characters are solid. The emotions feel real and the information given feels relevant. The romance is there but it feels more natural than the extreme, teenage romance that is depicted in the earlier books.

It also gave me a new favorite character, Hunter, which means that I later need to read Obsession later on, damnit. I had planned to skip that one.

I would give it a 9 out of 10, but only because of the horror factor it keeps giving me. I hate hospitals. Otherwise, I would consider giving it a 10. Yeah, that is my reasoning. I had full panic in some parts of the book so deal with it!

Seriously though, it is a solid book and one of the greatest I have read by Jennifer L. Armentrout. I… Enjoyed it? Maybe…

With Kind Regards

Senefer.

Publicerad av Senefer

I'm a swedish writer who likes to read, paint and of course write. I adore my family, animals and learn new things no matter if it is about people, books or the world.

Lämna en kommentar

Pups & Prose

Book reviews, literary thoughts, dog adventures

LITERARY TITAN

Connecting Authors and Readers

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

Designa en webbplats som denna med WordPress.com
Kom igång