Keys to the Demon Prison by Brandon Mull

This is the fifth and last book in the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull, concluding the fantasy story of Kendra and Seth as they take down the demons who are released from their prisons. It was first published 2010 by Shadow Mountain. I listened to the audiobook, narrated by E. B. Stevens.

The conclusion of the story has finally arrived, the sphinx taking Seth prisoner and as he escapes, he releases a demon who overthrow the sphinx and plans to release the demons. Now Kendra and her brother Seth needs to protect the Eternals, who are targeted in order to release the demons. While Seth sets out to find a weapon that can kill demons.

This story felt really long and messy. The end, or to be exact what happens after the end, goes on forever. It was very unnecessary to have it end, spoilers, in a court to determine the sphinx punishment. It wasn’t interesting. Seth goes into an obvious trap despite all the previous book was about him not being rash, he then goes to find a weapon, kill two demons and then Kendra takes the sword and saves the world. Seth who had to fight to make the sword acknowledge him but Kendra could do it without lifting a finger. We have once again a new love interest, barely introduced or developed but I guess Kendra needed a love interest and someone to lead the armor, for god forgive if Kendra was supposed to do it.

Much of Kendra’s storyline felt once again obscure, she is obvious supposed to be the main character if you consider her Deus Ex Machina powers, but it is like the author has no idea what to do with her and just throw in her at the end with an unexplained power or ability that saved the day. I’m still not sure what her part of the story is, how was she supposed to grow? Was her purpose just there to save the day without really growing or doing anything herself?

Now, with all that said. Stories with a main character who is overpowered, or seemed to just suddenly draw out some power out of the pure power of being a main character, are common. They are meant to be a power fantasy and are not necessarily bad but I don’t like that kind of a story. There is a reason why I like Seth’s storyline, he messes up and his story is to fix and grow. His story is about redemption. It’s clear and focused. That kind of story I like, I don’t like characters who just get powers out of nowhere. They bore me.

There are also too many deaths, especially for a children’s book. The problem is that few of the death has any meaning since we hardly know or care about the characters. A few deaths make sense, the alchemist dying for Seth’s mistake makes sense. They knew each other and that was a lesson for Seth and he grows with it. Other deaths just felt hollow.

I cannot give this book a high rating, I would give it a 5 out of 10 at best, but I won’t argue against people who like this book or for those who seem interested in it. This one was not my cup of tea, but many adore this action filled story and it might interest other people.

The entire book series were not my favorite. I would perhaps like the first and second book but for each book, I started to dislike the repeating story. Seth messes up, fixes his mistake for then having Kendra swoop in with help and saving the day, getting all the glory. This plotline is on repeat throughout all the books with a few differences to try and at least give it different flavors.

That along with old gender roles such as the courageous but rash boy and the smart but constantly crying girl. The two main characters “dying” to come back trope are constantly used, along with a diversity that really are on the nose sometimes, if they go to a country which are mostly white then you bet, they only meet the minorities of that country. I don’t mind diversity and liked the thought of using different cultures but none of the cultures are present, only their skin color.

The use of folklore and mythology was interesting, at first it seems cliché but as the books went on, it became interesting. The vast differences in fairies, goblins, trolls, giants and dragons were interesting and the books strong points according to me. It feels like the author truly wanted to build up a unique world and for each book, he succeeded. The lore felt new and interesting, far more so than the human characters who was rather flat.

But as the book progressed not even the intriguing world can save what I thought was a uninteresting plot and characters. If I would rate the series, I would give it a 6 out of 10. It is average, I don’t regret reading the series but I don’t think I will visit this series again. I might look up a new book if it where to be depicted in this world if only because it would interest me to visit the world again, but not the characters.

What did you think? Did you like it?

With Kind Regards

Senefer.

Publicerad av Senefer

I'm a swedish writer who likes to read, paint and of course write. I adore my family, animals and learn new things no matter if it is about people, books or the world.

Lämna en kommentar

Pups & Prose

Book reviews, literary thoughts, dog adventures

LITERARY TITAN

Connecting Authors and Readers

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

Designa en webbplats som denna med WordPress.com
Kom igång