Bound for Danger by Franklin W. Dixon

Bound for Danger is the thirteenth book in the Hardy Boys Adventures by Franklin W. Dixon. The Hardy Boys was originally created by the author Edward Stratemeyer while the new books are written by ghostwriters under the pseudonym Franklin W. Dixon. The original series was first released in 1927, but this book was published 2016 by Aladdin. I listened to the audiobook on this short mystery novel, narrated by Tim Gregory.

Frank and Joe are called into the principal’s office, much to their surprise, they are forced into joining the basketball club. Not knowing why, they entered only to be kidnapped and threaten to quit or they would beat them up. The brother’s refuse to give in to the bullying and decide to go after the bullies. Trying to discover their identities before someone get hurt, again.

I rather like this book, it was exciting and there was some really solid uncomfortable moments full with suspense and dark atmosphere. The author is rather good at the horror part of the story, something I have notice in a few of the other books but noticed it once again in this one as it leans heavily on the dark suspense of the kidnappings.

I do find the mystery once again lacking, some of the culprits I got but the main one was barely mentioned except for one time in the book and at the end when he monologues. Though there were somethings I was bothered by, like we were supposed to feel the pain the brothers felt when they were framed but I thought it was rather unrealistic.

I mean, the teachers have gotten Frank’s essays for months and knew he was one of their best students and now suddenly they cannot believe him when he said that he didn’t write the womanhating essay, not to mention he could just have shown the real one. How often would someone write two essays for an assignment? And Joe could just have showed the original photo to his girlfriend, making it clear that it was a photoshop.

Not to mention that some random guys were able to overpower a security guard, and two boys who is trained in self-defence. Several times I must add, it was weird as best. I understand why it needed to happen, otherwise it would be no story but it made little sense to me, and god, how many clubs is Frank involved in? The conservation club, helping the journalist club, historical club, and now acapella. Not to mention that I might like the narrator but damn, he cannot sing.

It was a really entertaining book though, and the mystery was stitched together with the plot nicely making the flow good. The scenes with the hazing was suspenseful and send shivers down my spine, reassuring me that the author has talent. I think this book series would have done better focusing on the adventure than trying to focus on a mystery that isn’t quite fully developed.  With all that in mind, my final rating of this book is a solid 7 out of 10. I cannot give it higher if only because the book his advertised as a mystery but the mystery isn’t that good. The suspense, entertainment and adventure are, but if the book is advertised as a mystery then I must judge it on that fact.

With Kind Regards

Senefer.

Publicerad av Senefer

I'm a swedish writer who likes to read, paint and of course write. I adore my family, animals and learn new things no matter if it is about people, books or the world.

Lämna en kommentar

Pups & Prose

Book reviews, literary thoughts, dog adventures

LITERARY TITAN

Connecting Authors and Readers

The Critiquing Chemist

Literary Analysis derived from an Analytical Chemist

Designa en webbplats som denna med WordPress.com
Kom igång